Stunning Entry for Bushwhacker!


The final round of the 2012 Carryduff Forklift MSA Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship takes competitors to Omagh this weekend for the McKelvey Bushwhacker Rally.

A stunning line-up of crews has been received for the popular event, with more than 90 crews set to do battle in the woods. And it seems that series leader, Derek McGarrity, is out for blood as he has entered in his S14 specification Subaru Impreza WRC!

The Glengormley driver had entered the penultimate round of the series in an older specification Subaru but he seemed to struggle in the mount, eventually finishing fifth overall behind title rival Derek McGeehan.

But that will change this weekend and for the first time on home ground, an S14 WRC Impreza will be seen crackling through the forest lanes!

McGarrity is seeded first on the road alongside navigator James McKee, while Banbridge’s Kenny McKinstry is set to make a return to action aboard his Impreza WRC. McKinstry is a former champion, although he has only contested a limited number of events this year.

Joining them will be Irish forestry contenders, Garry Jennings and Rory Kennedy. The Group A Impreza mounted crew were involved in a great tussle at the Lakeland Stages with Jonny Greer, only to slip off the road on the final stage. Jennings is in the hunt for the separate Irish forestry title and a repeat of that incident at the Bushwhacker would be disastrous for his campaign.

Other leading entrants include Group N crews Vincent McAree and Colin Britton, as well as Mark Donnelly and Stephen Wright in their class 9 Mitsubishis. The remainder of the top 10 is completed by a trio of World Rally Car crews, with Martin Cairns and James Gillen aboard their Imprezas while Derek McGeehan will pilot his MINI WRC once again.

McGeehan is McGarrity’s only challenger for the 2012 Carryduff Forklift title, but he really has to score maximum points and hope that McGarrity essentially fails to finish. It’s a tall order but anything is possible in rallying.

Other potential challengers include both Sam and Robert Mofett, while the two-wheel-drive field also has a strong showing. Vivian and Paul Hamill are set to do battle with the likes of Frank Kelly, Seamus O’Connell, Adrian Hetherington, Drew Stewart and Shay Power.

It really is a stunning entry for the final round of this year’s Carryduff Forklift N.I. series, and the spectators will be out in force to cheer on their local heroes. More details can be found online at

Entry List

1 Derek McGarrity Glengormley James McKee Dungannon 9a Subaru S14
2 Kenny McKinstry Banbridge T.B.C 9a Subaru S10
3 Garry Jennings Kesh Rory Kennedy Letterkenny 9a Subaru Impreza
4 Vincent McAree Co.Monaghan JP McAree Co.Monaghan 2 EVO 9
5 Colin Britton Donemana Arthur Kierans Monaghan 2 EVO 9
6 Mark Donnelly Greencastle Sean Ferris Drumquin 9a EVO 9
7 Steven Wright Newbliss Suzanne Wright Newbliss 9a EVO 6
8 Martin Cairns Strabane T.B.C 9a Subaru WRC
9 James Gillen Castlederg Ken Sproule Castlederg 9a Subaru
10 Derek McGeehan Draperstown Damien Connolly Monaghan 9b MINI WRC
11 Ian Cochrane Seskinore Ray Fitzpatrick 2 EVO 9
12 Andrew Purcell Waterford Mickey Courtney Co.Meath 9a EVO 6
13 Raymond Mason Moneyreagh Peter Martin Greenisland 2 EVO 9
14 John Cairns Strabane James Cairns Strabane 2 Evo
15 Josh Moffett Monaghan T.B.C 2 Evo 9
16 Vivian Hamill Ballygawley Paul Hamill Ballygawley 8 Escort MK2
17 Frank Kelly Moy Liam Brennan Cork 8 Escort MK2
18 Seamus O’Connell Dungiven Sean Magee Magherafelt 8 Escort MK2
19 Adrian Hetherington Donaghmore Gary Nolan Co.Wexford 7 Escort MK2
20 Drew Stewart Antrim David White Antrim 7 Escort MK2
21 Shay Power Carrick-on-Suir Paul Collins Butlerstown 7 Escort MK2
22 Desi Henry Portglenone Barry McNulty Enniskillen 5 Citroen DS3
23 Sam Moffett Monaghan James O’Reilly 9a EVO 9
24 Gerard Lucey Co.Cork Jimmy Lucey Co.Cork 2 Mits EVO 8
25 Gareth Sayers Castlederg Gareth Gilchrist Castlederg 9a EVO 6
26 Robert Moffett Monaghan T.B.C 2 Evo 9
27 Liam Regan Belfast Damien Duffin Portglenone 9a Peugeot 206
28 Kieran Graffin Toome Vincent Fergus 9a EVO 9 GPA
29 Trevor Ferguson Coagh David McElroy Banbridge 2 Subaru N12
30 Anthony Cairns Strabane Mark Preston 2 Subaru
31 Derrick Jobb Fintona Tommy Nugent Omagh 2 EVO 9
32 Niall Henry Portglenone John Rowan 2 Subaru N12
33 Francis Fee Derrylin Paul McCartin Kinawley 2 EVO 9
34 Robert McKelvey Castlederg Aaron Johnston Fintona 2 EVO 8
35 Brendan O’Hagan Limavady Paul Hone 9a Evo
36 Ray Brammer England T.B.C 9a Subaru S9
37 Frank Wray Strabane T.B.C 9a EVO 6
38 Gerard McFall BushMills Connor O’Loan Martinstown 2 EVO 9
39 Derek Crossen Comber Andrew Bushe 2 EVO 6
40 Gary Cairns Strabane Gary Monteith 2 Evo 8
41 Alan Atcheson Strabane Alan Hayes Wexford 7 Escort Mk2
42 Darren McKelvey Castlederg Denver Rafferty Ballygawley 2 EVO 6
43 Ray Benkin Jnr Co.Cork Nicky Hegarty Co.Cork 6 Escort MK2
44 Andrew Bustard Castlederg David Young Omagh 6 Escort MK2
45 Michael McCrossan Drumquin T.B.C 6 Escort G3
46 Hugh McQuaid Dromore T.B.C 6 Escort Mk2
47 Stephen Dickson Sixmilecross Jonathan Charlesson 5 Vauxhall Corsa
48 Dermot O’Hagan Omagh Pierce Doheny Co.Louth 5 Vauxhall Corsa
49 Ian Millar Ballymena Ronan O’Neill Fintona 5 Escort MK2
50 Paul Barrett Maynooth Declan Tumilty Co.Kildare 9a EVO 6
51 Ben Gormley Belleek Kevin Eves Pettigo 9a Subaru
52 Michael Conlon Castleblayney Ciaran McPhilip Monaghan 7 Escort MK2
53 Eugene Devine Strabane T.B.C 7 Escort MK2
54 Paul McErlean Bellaghy Niall McKenna Draperstown 7 Escort MK2
55 Conor Kelly Beragh Tony Kelly Beragh 5 Nissan Sunny
56 Paddy McVeigh Dungannon Stephen O’Hanlon Ballygawley 5 Escort MK2
57 Mervyn Wilson Enniskillen Rickie Gamble 4 Escort Mk2
58 Adrian McElhinney Donegal Paddy McCrudden Donegal 4 Peugeot 206
59 David Kerr Omagh Benny Grainger Enniskillen 4 Peugeot 205
60 Ashley Donald Omagh Ryan McCloskey Omagh 4 Escort MK2
61 Niall Donnelly Beragh Ryan Donnelly Beragh 4 Escort Mk2
62 Ciaran McCullagh Maynooth T.B.C 4 Vauxhall Nova
63 Alan Smyth Omagh Peter Thompson Omagh 4 Vauxhall Corsa
64 Ashley Rutledge Omagh Brian Robinson 5 Honda Civic
65 Ronan Campbell Trillick Paul Corry Enniskillen 10 Escort Mk2
66 Tommy O’Connell Dungiven Brian Duggan Co.Kerry 10 Escort MK2
67 Rob Dennis Wiltshire Bob Stokoe Surrey 10 Escort MK2
68 Gary Owens Omagh T.B.C 10 Escort MK2
69 Aaron Mawhinney Bellaghy Robert Beare 4 Escort MK2
70 Glen Irwin Castlederg T.B.C 3 Vauxhall Nova
71 Gareth Mimagh Tattyreagh John Johnson 3 Vauxhall Nova
72 Bryan Jardine Carnteel Lloyd Cochrane Richhill 6 Escort MK2
73 Declan Campbell Trillick Declan McGarrity Enniskillen 6 Escort Mk2
74 Brian Little Omagh Seamus Teigue 4 G3 Escourt
75 Aaron Cunningham Maghera Ryan O’Connor Maghera 6 Escort MK2
76 Simon Hemphill Castlederg T.B.C 4 Vauxhall Nova
77 Dominic Leonard Letterbreen Brian Hoy Enniskillen 4 Honda Civic
78 Richard McCrea Omagh Ryan Darcy Tattyreagh 5 Peugoet 106
79 Tony McKenna Fintona Daire McGuire Lisnaskea 6 Escort
80 Martin Hamill Ballygawley Graham Henderson Derry 7 Escort MK2
81 Joe McMenamin Castlederg Martin Gallogley Ederney 6 Opel Manta
82 Uel Crawford Fintona Colleen Barker Seskinore 3 Vauxhall Nova
83 Johnny Crossle Strabane Joe Gallagher Strabane 3 Escort MK2
84 Ruairi Maguire Dromore Michael McAloon Trillick 3 Vauxhall Nova
85 Damien McGauran Belleek Thomas McGauran Belleek 7 Corolla
86 Peter Jennings Trillick Derek Robinson Enniskillen 1 Peugeot 205
87 Mark Owens Carrickmore Dara Leonard Omagh 7 Escort MK2
88 Adrian Malanaphy Kinawley Patrick Malanaphy Kinawley 7 Ford Focus
89 Aiden Donaghey Sixmilecross Gerard Keys Carrickmore 6 Peugeot 205
90 Daryl McCanny Drumquin T.B.C 6 Escort G3
91 Glenn Alcorn Perth Barry Melly Donegal 5 Corolla

Go Motorsport

Comments are closed.