Bradley Heads Sperrins Entry!

Draperstown driver Camillus Bradley heads the entry for this Saturday’s Tour of the Sperrins Rally, round four of the Carryduff Forklift MSA Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship. Navigated by Charlie Beattie, the Mark 2 Escort crew head a horsepower packed field of almost 100 crews for the Maghera based event.

Number one will adorn the side of Bradley’s Escort this weekend as a result of his victory in 2012 but with a host of World Rally Car pilots biting at his heels, he will really have his work cut out if he is to overcome the might of four-wheel-drive power once again.

Those WRC pilots are akin to a ‘who’s who’ of local rally talent. They include reigning Irish Tarmac Champion Darren Gass (Impreza WRC) as well as reigning N.I. champion Derek McGarrity (Impreza WRC).

Also joining the mix is recent Circuit of Kerry winner, Donagh Kelly (Impreza WRC), as well as Warrenpoint’s Peadar Hurson (Escort WRC) and Draperstown’s Derek McGeehan (MINI WRC).

While former N.I. champion George Robinson will start at number seven in his Mitsubishi Lancer, an interesting entry has been seeded at number eight as Nissan GT3 driver, Steven Kane, is set to make his rally debut aboard a MINI WRC.

More accustomed to driving a Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 in the Blancpain Endurance Series, it will be a baptism of fire for 32-year-old Kane as he jumps in at the ‘deep end’ of rallying. He will have to contend with the hedge-lined country lanes as well as a navigator shouting pace notes – neither of which he is used to!

In the two-wheel-drive field, Alistair Cochrane, Keith White and David Armstrong will challenge number one seed Bradley for the 2WD honours in their Escorts. Crumlin’s Rodney White will also be in the mix with his Sunbeam, and insurance expert Fintan McGrady will be back behind the wheel of his stunning new Mark 2 Escort.

The event starts from Maghera at midday on Saturday when competitors leave the start ramp outside Walsh’s Hotel. They will go on to tackle two loops of three stages, with service after stage three in Maghera, before returning to the town for the champagne spraying finish at approximately 6.30pm.

Tour of the Sperrins – Top 10 Seeds

1 Camillus Bradley/Charlie Beattie (Escort Mk2)
2 Darren Gass/Paddy Toner (Impreza WRC)
3 Derek McGarrity/Neil Doherty (Impreza WRC)
4 Donagh Kelly/Kevin Flanagan (Impreza WRC)
5 Peadar Hurson/Damien Connolly (Escort WRC)
6 Derek McGeehan/TBA (MINI WRC)
7 George Robinson/Tommy Speers (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo)
8 Steven Kane/Noel Orr (MINI WRC)
9 Alistair Cochrane/Paddy McCrudden (Escort Mk2)
10 Keith White/Damian McCann (Escort Mk1)

Go Motorsport

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you think...

You must be logged in to post a comment.