Modern Tyres Mourne Rally Countdown

(Image: William Neill) The countdown is on to the 2010 Modern Tyres Mourne Rally, with only three weeks remaining. The event will mark the half way point of the Hankook Northern Ireland Rally Championship series, while offering spectacular scenery along the way.

It is expected that the series leaders will be taking to the start line, but challenging for the leading positions will be the local crews, that will be out in force. A Mourne Rally regular, Norman Armstrong with Stephen Griffith in the passenger seat, has confirmed they will take to the event on the 5th June. The Ford Escort pilot will be amongst the favourites for the local honours.

Event Clerk of the Course, Des O’Loan commented: “It is great to see the support for this rally, and I must thank our title sponsor Modern Tyre Services, and the associate sponsors; Formula Karting Newry, Glen Print, MT Waste, The Orchard Bistro and SuperBites.”

It is also important to outline that HANS Devices are NOT required for this event, reducing costs for many competitors. Regulations and Entry Forms are still available on the Newry and District Motor Club’s website,

To keep up-to-date join the Official Modern Tyres Mourne Rally Facebook here:!/group.php?gid=106404202736719&ref=ts

Championship Rounds:

Round 4 of the HASS Auto Sport & Spares Border Championship
Round 5 of the Hankook Northern Ireland Rally Championship

Entries as of 13/05/10

Armstrong, Norman Griffith, Stephen Ford Escort 2000 16 No 7
Beattie, Melissa , Mitsubishi Mirage 1597 16 No
Boyle, Declan Boyle, Brian Ford Escort MK II 2500 16 No 8
Carbin, Michael Garvey, Barry Peugeot 205 1600 8 No 5
Carron, Paul Coll, John Toyota Corolla 1600 16 No 11
Carson, Dominic , Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 2000 16 Yes 2
Conlon, Michael Boyle, Aidan Ford Escort MK II 2020 16 No 7
Doherty, Cyril Henderson, Graham Subaru Impreza 1994 16 Yes 2
Donnelly, Oran Hughes, Paul Ford Escort 2100 8 No 6
Donnelly, Aidan Loughran, Raymond Ford Escort MK II 2000 16 No 7
Erwin, Robert , Toyota Corolla 1600 20 No 5
Ferguson, Trevor , Subaru Impreza 2000 16 Yes 2
Hamilton, Philip Sride, Dereck Citroen C2 1600 16 No 5
Kennedy, Roger Blackledge, Wendy Peugeot 306 Maxi 1999 16 No
Leonard, David Foley, Adrain Citroen Saxo Super 1600 1598 16 No
Leonard, Jonny Donaldson, Jackie Ford Fiesta 2000 16 No 1
Magee, Micheal Magilton, John Ford Escort MK II 2000 8 No 6
McFall, Brian Craig, Ronnie Mitsubishi Lancer EVO 8 1997 16 Yes 4
McFall, Colm Lennon, Domhnall Ford Escort Cos 1998 16 Yes 9
McGrady, Fintan Hannah, Mark Ford Escort MK II 1998 16 No 7
McToal, Paddy O’Loan, Connor Ford Escort MK II 1600 8 No 4
Moffett, Maurice McKenna, Jason Toyota Starlet 2400 16 No
Moffett, Richard , Toyota Starlet 1598 16 No
Moffett, David Speares, Andrew Toyota Starlet 1598 16 No 11
Pedlow, Malcolm Ferguson, Ivor BMW 2002 1991 8 No 11
Quinn, Paddy Loughran, Arthur Ford Escort MK I 1600 8 No 4
Robinson, George Speers, Tommy Subaru Impreza WRC 1998 16 Yes 9
Robinson, Mark Robinson, Shane Vauxhall Nova 1598 8 No 4
Sayers, Gareth Gilchrist, Gareth Vauxhall Nova 1400 16 No 3
Smyth, Gerry McQuillan, Gregory Ford Escort 2000 8 No 6
Stewart, Drew Park, Steven Ford Escort MK II 2001 16 No 7

Go Motorsport


One Response to “Modern Tyres Mourne Rally Countdown”


Check out what others are saying about this post...
  1. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jonathan MacDonald. Jonathan MacDonald said: Modern Tyres Mourne Rally Countdown [...]

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you think...

You must be logged in to post a comment.