Maximum McGarrity at Circuit!

Derek McGarrity and James McKee secured their third maximum points haul of the season at the Donnelly Group Circuit of Ireland National Rally, round three of the Carryduff Forklift MSA Northern Ireland Stage Rally Championship!

Competitors in both the international and national categories of the event were eligible to score Championship points, provided they had registered for the series.

At the end of the event, the results from both categories were combined for the purposes of awarding points, and it emerged that Derek McGarrity had taken his third maximum score on the trot, bolstering his position at the head of the Carryduff Forklift standings.

McGarrity, who sealed third overall in the National Rally behind Darren Gass and Eugene Donnelly, sealed the maximum score comfortably from leading two-wheel drive pilot Jonny Greer.

Championship leader McGarrity was initially embroiled in a battle with Kenny McKinstry and Noel Orr. But unfortunately for McKinstry, engine problems forced him out of the event when he held a 30 second advantage over rival McGarrity.

McGarrity assumed the advantage and never looked back as he went on to claim third overall in the National Rally with his Mini, extending his Championship lead in the process.

Jonny Greer was next in line with his two-wheel drive Citroen DS3 R3T. He decided to register for the Championship before the start of the event, and impressed with what was his tarmac debut in the Citroen.

It was a close battle for the runner-up position, as Greer swapped seconds with the Escort belonging to Drew Stewart. In the end, less than 10 seconds separated the two crews, with Stewart having to play second best to Greer on this occasion.

In the Production category, Trevor Ferguson and David McElroy sealed another maximum score aboard their Impreza N12b. After two days of rallying, they finished little more than 40 seconds ahead of Alan Carmichael, with Geoff McMahon coming home in third.

In Championship terms, Derek McGarrity has extended his lead in the overall standings with Derek McGeehan, who didn’t enter the Circuit, in second position ahead of Ray Brammer. There is a three way tie for fourth between John McGaffin, Kieron Graffin and Drew Stewart.

In the production category, Trevor Ferguson continues to lead with Jason Curran second ahead of Davy Graham, while Drew Stewart leads the two-wheel drive category.

Competitors return to action on 5 May for the Maghera based Tour of the Sperrins Rally. The event will feature six tarmac stages. More news soon!

Go Motorsport

Comments are closed.